Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Are you a new Saudi Aramco employee (new hire - who has not arrived in KSA yet) seeking information on your new job? Want to know what it's like working for Saudi Aramco in Saudi Arabia? Employment/work-related questions/posts go here.

Moderators: stmayo11, kswayne, vpainter

Forum rules
All posts must be in English.

Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby palbody » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:28 am

Hi All,
Does anybody know if there is an age limit for the new hires?

Thank you all in advance
palbody
More than 2 posts
More than 2 posts
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:11 am

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby stmayo11 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:40 am

Many positions require a degree and a minimum number of years experience. Mandatory retirement age is 60, but some folks seek and obtain extensions for 1 or 2 years after they turn 60. I am not aware of a minimum age requirement and I do not believe one exists, so long as the applicant has the required skills, experience and education.
User avatar
stmayo11
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby palbody » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:09 am

Thanks stmayo11 for replying. What about maximum age? I am 52 and applied more than once. I have the required skills, experience and education , but I not sure about the age. Do I stand a chance?
palbody
More than 2 posts
More than 2 posts
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:11 am

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby stmayo11 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:40 pm

To answer your specific question, I am not aware of an age limit for new hires. I know the mandatory retirement age is 60. If you're 52, then I guess the hiring department would need to decide, should you be the best qualified candidate, whether it's worth it for them to bring you over for 8 years.
User avatar
stmayo11
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby dr. Syed H Ali » Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:16 am

As Salaam o alaikum
I wanted to know whether Aramco hires employees from India. I am a public health specialist working in India. Also if Aramco hires Indians , where is the job location in Aramco ( Where in Saudi Arabia).

Khuda Hafiz
Dr Syed H Ali
dr. Syed H Ali
More than 5 posts
More than 5 posts
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:17 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby vpainter » Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:00 am

Yes, Aramco hires from India. Please check for positions you would qualify for and apply to at: http://www.jobsataramco.com
vpainter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5251
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:36 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby stmayo11 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:26 am

Hello Dr. Ali,

If you are from India but living/working in Saudi Arabia you are an expatriate, and exapts are hired through http://www.jobsatarmco.com....even if you are located in Saudi Arabia. I'm thinking one exception to this would possibly be if you have Saudi citizenship. There may be rare exceptions to this, but I'm not aware of anyone bypassing this process.
User avatar
stmayo11
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby vpainter » Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:24 pm

expats who are already working in Saudi Arabia must get a letter of release from their present employer (or previous employer depending on the time away from this job) prior to working for another company. Even if you were hired by a new company, you are not able to go to work for them until you have obtained this release. This is Saudi law and causes some people great headaches when their present or previous employer won't give this letter of release.
vpainter
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5251
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:36 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby doonhamer » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:14 am

If you have worked in Saudi for 3 years prior you must have a NOC (no objection certificate)
doonhamer
More than 25 posts
More than 25 posts
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 8:52 pm

how an expat apply for a job?

Postby alasiyahman69 » Sat Sep 12, 2009 10:42 pm

hello all,

i am an pakistani national , working in ministry of health as a specialist for three years.i have applied for a job at jobsatsaudiaramco,but did not recieve any response.is there any public health department at saudi aramco ?my father also worked for saudi aramco from 1975-1977.

i will be very thankful for any kind of help.

regards
dr syed azam sher
specialist public health
alasiyahman69
More than 5 posts
More than 5 posts
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:45 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby stmayo11 » Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:30 pm

Yes, Saudi Aramco does have a health department as they operate a number of clinics and a hospital in Dhahran. You should check out http://www.jobsataramco.com. Good luck.
User avatar
stmayo11
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:30 am
Location: Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia

Mandatory Retirement Age ?

Postby bishon.frisee » Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:00 pm

Does the Saudi Aramco Mandatory Retirement Age occur on one's 60th birthday or the month when one turns 60 ? i.e. is an employee mandatorily retired on their 60th birthday or the last day of the month in which they turn 60 ?
bishon.frisee
More than 10 posts
More than 10 posts
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby TheDude » Sun Feb 14, 2010 7:33 am

Yes, the last day of the month of birth, so, if you were born on April 12, then you will retire on April 30 of the year you turned 60 in.
TheDude
More than 25 posts
More than 25 posts
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 3:18 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby dpatrick » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:49 pm

You absolutely stand a chance. Aramco has hired employees in their 50's. It is boils down to demand, experience and whether your particular skill set is a good fit for the company. Keep trying!!!
dpatrick
More than 5 posts
More than 5 posts
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:24 pm

Re: Is there any age limit for the new hires?

Postby exaramcon » Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:21 pm

Yes.....but they wont advertise that fact. I worked as a secretary there for 5 years, and have been trying to get back, but have had my application rejected several times. I even wrote and enquired if they did have an age limit as I wouldnt keep wasting my time reapplying....I didnt get any reply. I´ve been told since by various friends who are still working there, that the secetaries they are recruiting now are usually maximum mid thirties..... :(
exaramcon
More than 2 posts
More than 2 posts
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:47 am

Next

Return to New Hires and Jobs - Working for Saudi Aramco

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests